Man Is Not God and God Is Not Human

That was quite the article by Steve Coerper, referenced in brianatheistconnect’s March 7th blog, and no doubt meant to scare the sin out of every man, woman, and child within reach.

Unfortunately, the only thought it stirred within me was of man pretending to be God. If we use the premise that we are all God’s children, good and bad, that God is love and life, I find it hard to believe that God would arbitrarily kill one nation of people (his children) in favor of another, or exterminate all the bad people and take away any chance of them ever evolving beyond the sum of their limited human parts.

Rather, wouldn’t it make more sense for God to be impartial to all his children, providing us with bodies to experience what the world has to offer, and free will to chart our own course in life? And like children taught to look out for their siblings and to keep their rooms clean, humans could to learn how to care about each other and the earth we live on?

And if we expand on that premise, we could assume human’s were given the ability to reason and make choices, that we are intentionally handicapped against seeing the bigger picture of existence because actually living through experiences forces us to learn. Being human means basing our motivations, thoughts, and reactions on such easily influenced contributors like emotions, our environment and upbringing.

Man is supposed to be made in God’s image, but man is not God and God is not human. And yet so often God is portrayed as having the same frailties and limited emotional scope as humans. If we are all God’s children, all a part of God’s creation, then God deliberately made people with different skin color, different nationalities, and different preferences. To me that says every person, including all of our diversities, is a part of each other.

The proof is a world filled with people of different skin color, sex, personalities, languages, preferences; human beings that have the ability of reason and choice, and bodies all made of the same substance as the earth, the universe, so I guess that means God as well. So by what right do religions or individuals have for browbeating us into suppressing or being penalized for attributes fashioned by God?

I understand the need to create laws as guidelines to keep order and give recourse, as long as those laws are fair and the same for all. Each of us has a moral center inside us. And harmony with that center is never more obvious than in young children. They don’t care whether a playmate is male or female, has a different skin color, or is handicapped in some way. They just want to play together. But as they grow they are taught (verbally and through actions) about segregation, hate, and what is considered sin.

So what is good and bad? If each human could put themselves into the body of the person they hated, for whatever reason, and experience what that hate feels like on the receiving end then maybe common sense would have a chance to surface through all the negativity, making the answer very clear. Good is equality for all, freedom of choice, and acceptance. The only bad or sin that I can see is to deliberately hurt or repress yourself or another.

But being good or bad is a human choice with consequences and not something mandated by God. Just as literature and doctrine are misguided human attempts to offer proof that they have firsthand knowledge of God’s thoughts and intentions. But such dogma is filled with so many contradictions and death and such despotic horror, that I have to wonder why anyone would want to believe in such a God.

I’ve no doubt that every religion has its spark of truth somewhere in all the reams of pages and scrolls, buried beneath eons of time and overshadowed by human prerogatives. But the fact still remains that religious literature was written by man and still manages to be interpreted differently by scholars the world over. And depending on the time and place, man decides what is good or bad, asserting with threats who will be segregated and the punishments incurred. It’s been man’s hand killing in the name of some righteous religion, or far worse, because of fear and small mindedness to anyone who was different. And like a ‘good old boys club’ man created the laws that made it legal, within the structure of our societies, to decide who would have rights and who would have none. God, it would appear, was just a convenient scapegoat for all the atrocities committed by humans.

People often ask why God would allow such terrible things to happen. Maybe, when humanity has evolved beyond our limited attitudes and truly understands what it means to unconditionally accept all that God created, we’ll discover that God had nothing to do with the fate of humans on earth. That living life and the paths we choose to achieve goodness and enlightenment always was, and always will be, up to us.

16 Comments

  1. TopCat2x2 said,

    March 10, 2011 at 6:47 am

    Hello Steven in San Diego. I wanted you to know that I received your response to my article. But I didn’t approve your lengthy collection of quotes from the Bible because most everyone has their own Bible and can look up the same quotes.

    What I would be most interested in is what you think about religion, your thoughts and feelings, not someone else’s. Judging by the quotes you sent I can only assume that you are deeply opposed to my point of view regarding religion. That’s certainly acceptable. So maybe you could share your views on equality for all, or freedom of choice for all, or of everyone simply being accepted for who they are.

  2. ultraguy said,

    March 10, 2011 at 6:47 am

    If, as you say, “the fact still remains that religious literature was written by man “, then from where do you derive your foundational premise that, “we are all God’s children, good and bad, that God is love and life”?

    Why does that particular premise have any enduring authority to it? (vs. a host of alternatives one might offer up.) Why should we accept it as true?

    • TopCat2x2 said,

      March 10, 2011 at 7:10 am

      Hello and thank you for expressing an opinion. All religious literature is man-made, but that doesn’t preclude the existence of God. There is no ‘proof’ one way or the other, just a faith that there is something more than our current existence, that we are not alone. The article tries to show that religion can’t have it both ways. That if we are all God’s children, a part of His creation, than man has no right to say part of that creation is acceptable and part is not. We are all equal.

  3. Steven said,

    March 10, 2011 at 7:07 am

    Too bad you censored my earlier reply and bible quotes without the earlier post it really makes this a one way discusssion since the bible quotes answered very well your post but now the benefit of the earlier post to others and yourself are lost.

    If you decide to repost my earlier bible quotes then the discussion will have the benefit of equal opportunity to discuss your original thoughts and comments.

    The loss in censoring my earlier posts is really unfair.

    Well I will leave you to your column and posts.

    I will keep you in my prayers as the LORD leads me.

    Again God Bless.

    God Bless

    • TopCat2x2 said,

      March 10, 2011 at 7:34 am

      I welcome your words, your opinions. The God you believe in has given you a mind to think and the freedom of choice. You don’t need Bible quotes to share how you feel about God, or express an opinion on how you think humans are evolving toward enlightenment.

      • Steven said,

        March 10, 2011 at 7:44 am

        I choose to use bible quotes to clearly explain to you my thoughts but you censor them since you do not want to allow bible verses that clearly lead to TRUTH.

        We are made in God’s image and I choose to speak with the same WORDS that God uses.

        Have you not ever quoted people you respect or agree with?

        I agree with God and choose to use bible quotes out of respect to my creator.

        Bible verses should be able to be quoted by people who have an opposing view than yours.

        How sad that you are not confident in your opinions that you censor my thoughts because they do not meet your ideas.

        The bible quotes I used were to the point and also more powerful than a two edged sword, cutting to the marrow. The scripture quotes I used I guess intimidate you and really you have nothing to fear from the bible quotes if you truly are seeking answers and TRUTH.

        God Bless

    • March 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      LORD, TRUTH, WORDS, TRUTH; Entire words capitalized, they must be the workings of a god. I believe!

      (Please note it is hard at times for me to take life seriously.)

      It is at times off putting to many non-religious, or those who do not share the same religion, to hear a person argue based on their holy book. We do not accept its merit of truth or fact and are more interested in your opinion and thoughts. I have participated in many debates and de facto judgement on holy book verses has been not to award points, your argument is stronger without it sir.

      • TopCat2x2 said,

        March 10, 2011 at 3:58 pm

        Welcome. Your summation is no doubt true, but having silently contemplated what I’ve seen, heard, and read throughout my adult life I decided it was time to take a stand and add my thoughts to the fray. While my opinions on religious literature are firm, my mind is open to all the possibilities of life and beyond. And if truth be told, sometimes it’s hard for me not to be ashamed that I’m human.

        Oops! When going through the pending queue the other day I thought I was making this reply to a comment addressed to me but when I actually looked at the blog that comment was meant for another. I’ve decided to leave this response because the sentiment can stand on its own.

  4. ultraguy said,

    March 10, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Well that was quick! Delightful to have a real conversation. 🙂

    You wrote: “There is no ‘proof’ one way or the other”

    Hypothetically speaking, what kind of evidence would you accept as proof of God’s existence? Of His character? Of His will for mankind? Would you trust something you saw with your own eyes, or would multiple people all need to see the same thing all at once? How ‘fantastic’ would it need to be to convince you? Would documentary evidence be sufficient, as it is for most things in ‘ordinary’ history, or is there a special, higher ‘bar’ of some kind when it comes to the things of God?

    • TopCat2x2 said,

      March 10, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Such an interesting question. We live in an age of science and technology where everything that can be proved to exist is documented and broken down to its smallest components as proof of existence. But what about God? If we use the same principles of documenting and breaking down then we fail in our efforts to show proof. But humans have the capability to see beyond logic. Do I believe in God? Yes. I just don’t believe in man’s version of God. And what is my proof? Part of it is faith and my ability to go beyond logic but also the fact that humans, the earth, the universe exists. And we are all made from the same matter. And the who or what that created all this matter could be called God. As for religion, my belief is simple. We are all a part of each other, we are all equal. The entire universe in all its complexities works together in harmony. Why can’t humans do the same.

  5. Steven said,

    March 10, 2011 at 9:20 am

    this site edits my posts so all the posts on here by me are not my entire thoughts or comments….please remove all my posts since you are not really seeking replies or comments.

    only twisting my words to your preconceived ideas of what I am saying.

    The Lord is my witness. No matter what you edit my comments have been shared with you and now you are responsible for your actions.

    God Bless

  6. Dave said,

    March 10, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Topcat,

    I wanted to address the premise that “we are all God’s children”. I hope this does not come across as snarky or sarcastic because there is none of it here. If you look at John 1:12

    “But to those who did accept him he gave power to become children of God”

    and if you then read John 8:44, Jesus tells the Pharisees that

    “You belong to your father the devil and you willingly carry out your father’s desires”

    Couple this with the parable of Matt 13:31-39 where Jesus compares a wheat field with all of the people, and you see it is a process of nurturing the seeds of good or evil in each of us, you have to conclude that being a child of God is a choice we each must make of our own free will. This is not to say that we are not all part of God’s creation and equally loved till the end. I’m just pointing out that being a child of God is not automatic and is something we must choose.

    Dave

    • TopCat2x2 said,

      March 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      Hi Dave, we are all trying to figure out what’s going on and why so I’m eager to hear any thoughts and feelings that aren’t ranted at me or beaten over my head. After reading my blog you are aware that I am a strong believer that all humans are entitled to their own choices. So that means I strongly accept that all people are free to believe whatever religion or God they want. My argument is not against God but against man pretending to be God or knowing what God’s intentions are. The crux of the premise is I see religious literature as man-made and simply man’s way of controlling people and free thinking, of putting his own spin on what’s right and wrong or acceptable. For me the bottom line is, if we are all made in God’s image, if we are all a part of his creation, how can any group or individual segregate another group of human beings for being a different skin color or choosing to love in a different way or belonging to another religion?

      But we both believe in choice and free will and that unites and strengthens our search for enlightenment.

  7. Dave said,

    March 10, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Thanks Topcat,

    I agree that it’s sometimes frustrating and confusing to see how many different interpretations there can be and how strident people can be in their viewpoints.
    For myself, I try not to be too sure about much of it, yet as a follower of Christ, I can know that He wants me to be as loving and compassionate as I can be to my fellow man. He said that one of most important commandments is to “love one another as I have loved you”, and He died for us.

    I do believe that the scripture in the Bible is inspired by Him though. I don’t believe that a loving God would go through all the time and processes to create all this (with us being the crowning achievement) and just leave us here to wander with no guidance.. Reading, interpreting and understanding is a lifelong process. The Bible is the deepest book one can ever wade into. It can’t be read and understood like a book of calculus for instance. I wish you well in your search for understanding.

    Dave

    • TopCat2x2 said,

      March 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      LOL, you’re right about being unable to read the Bible like any regular book. But once the dust settles I can’t help feeling it all boils down to respect, compassion, and equality for everyone. There is a lot of literature in the world that provides guidence for becoming the best human beings we can. If we find that end result and live our lives as decent, compassionate people then enlightenment is ours no matter the source. All the best.


Leave a Reply

